The National Futsal League was formally established in 2008 by the Football Association. Attempts to run a national league in the early days of futsal’s official introduction into England around 2000 were disjointed and the FA felt the best way to develop futsal in a national structure was to provide its support and guidance. The inaugural league formed with 8 teams in a single division. The League was administered by the FA Futsal & Small Sided Committee and the management was provided from the FA lead executive and officers of the committee.

Since those early days, the League champions have secured a place in the UEFA Futsal Club Championships for the following season. As the League has strengthened it has had some success with Baku United qualifying for the latter stages of the competition in 2015.

In the 2016-17 Season, the NFL moved towards being independent from The FA. With The FA still providing substantial administrative and financial support, the League now operating with increasing independence from The FA.

The League had always been regionalised but in 2017-18 a National Super League of the top 12 teams was created. Demand for teams to join the League is extensive and the league continues to thrive. In the 2018-19 Season it operated with a single National Super League of 12 teams; two regional first divisions (North & South) promoting their champions; and a further three regional second divisions (North Midlands & South). In 2017-18 promotion and relegation between the various divisions was formalised. In 2017-18 the league expanded to encompass the emerging Women’s National Super League forming three regionalised women’s divisions in the North, Midlands and South.

In the 2018-19 Season the League had expanded to 49 teams and 6 divisions for men and 15 teams in 3 divisions for women.

The League attracts players from across the country and worldwide, continuing to grow to provide a nationwide platform for elite futsal for both men and women in England.

In the 2019-20 Season the League looked forward to complete independence from the FA, led and run by its Member Clubs as a social enterprise, with the aim of extending the enjoyment of futsal for players and spectators across England. The Covid-19 pandemic ended the season early, with clubs voting for final rankings to be decided on the basis of average points per match.

In November 2020 the NFL converted into a Community Interest Company, owned and controlled by its Member Clubs and managed by a Board of Directors who are elected annually.

National Futsal League – Roll of Honour

Division 1  Champions Runners up
2008-09 London Helvecia Ipswich Wolves
2009-10 London Helvecia Tranmere Victoria
2010-11 London Helvecia London Spartans
2011-12 London Helvecia Sheffield FC
Super League
2012-13 London Baku United London Helvecia
2013-14 London Baku United Manchester FC
2014-15 London Baku United Oxford City Lions
2015-16 Oxford City Lions Genesis
2016-17 London Helvecia London Baku United
2017-18 Reading Escolla London Helvecia
2018-19 London Helvecia Loughborough University
Division 1 Champions North South
2017-18 Durham Sussex
2018-19 University of Nottingham London United
Division 2 Champions North Midlands South
2012-13 University of Plymouth FC Siauliai
2013-14 Teeside FC University of Gloucester Maccabi GB
2014-15 FC Derby Loughborough Academy Kaunas
2015-16 York City Cambridge United Sussex
2016-17 York City Kettering Sussex
2017-18 Bolton Reading Escolla Dev London International
2018-19 Newcatle Dev Bedford Basingstoke
Women’s League Champions Runners up
2017-18 South London Ladies University of Nottingham Ladies
2018-19 Manchester London Helvecia