The National Futsal League was formally established in 2008 by the Football Association. Attempts to run a national league in the early days of futsal’s official introduction into England around 2000 were disjointed and the FA felt the best way to develop futsal in a national structure was to provide its support and guidance. The inaugural league formed with 8 teams in a single division. The League was administered by the FA Futsal & Small Sided Committee and the management was provided from the FA lead executive and officers of the committee.

Since those early days, the League champions have secured a place in the UEFA Futsal Club Championships for the following season. As the League has strengthened it has had some success with Baku United qualifying for the latter stages of the competition in 2015.

In the 2016-17 Season, the NFL moved towards being independent from The FA. With The FA still providing substantial administrative and financial support, the League now operating with increasing independence from The FA.

The League had always been regionalised but in 2017-18 a National Super League of the top 12 teams was created. Demand for teams to join the League is extensive and the league continues to thrive. In the 2018-19 Season it operated with a single National Super League of 12 teams; two regional first divisions (North & South) promoting their champions; and a further three regional second divisions (North Midlands & South). In 2017-18 promotion and relegation between the various divisions was formalised. In 2017-18 the league expanded to encompass the emerging Women’s National Super League forming three regionalised women’s divisions in the North, Midlands and South.

In the 2018-19 Season the League had expanded to 49 teams and 6 divisions for men and 15 teams in 3 divisions for women.

The League attracts players from across the country and worldwide, continuing to grow to provide a nationwide platform for elite futsal for both men and women in England.

In the 2019-20 Season the League looked forward to independence from the FA, controlled by its Member Clubs as a social enterprise, with the aim of extending the enjoyment of futsal for players and spectators across England. The Covid-19 pandemic ended the season early, with clubs voting for final rankings to be decided on the basis of average points per match.

In November 2020 the NFL converted into a Community Interest Company, owned and controlled by its Member Clubs and managed by a Board of Directors who are elected annually.

In March 2021 we partnered with the Spanish LNFS to become LNFS England, which will replicate the tried and tested Spanish model for development of futsal across all English communities, looking to introduce futsal to a wider audience, and engaging children and adults from all walks of life.


National Futsal League – Roll of Honour


2008-09 – Division 1 Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: Ipswich Wolves

2009-10 – Division 1 Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: Tranmere Victoria           

2010-11 – Division 1 Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: London Spartans

2011-12 – Division 1 Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: Sheffield FC     

2012-13 – Super League Champions: London Baku United; Runners up: London Helvecia

2013-14 – Super League Champions: London Baku United; Runners up: Manchester FC      

2014-15 – Super League Champions: London Baku United; Runners up: Oxford City Lions

2015-16 – Super League Champions: Oxford City Lions; Runners up: Genesis      

2016-17 – Super League Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: London Baku United

2017-18 – Super League Champions: Reading Escolla; Runners up: London Helvecia           

2018-19 – Super League Champions: London Helvecia; Runners up: Loughborough University

2019-2020 – Premiership North: Oxford City & Cambridge; Premiership South: Reading Royals & Sporting Club Southend (season decided on Points per Game because of Covid-19 pandemic)